Land Stewardship Ambassadors

Our education program is multifaceted and takes place in the classroom, on the land, and in partnership with many organizations that are helping to lead the way in natural resource conservation education. We deliver programming, knowledge, and leadership skills to students in South Texas, including underserved communities, benefiting the region now and in the future.

East Foundation partners with the Witte Museum to bring the Land Stewardship Ambassadors (LSA) program to students in Bexar, Cameron, and Webb counties. The program increases awareness of land stewardship principles, promotes civil engagement in today’s youth, and inspires students to obtain careers that support land stewardship. This course is a reading and writing intensive course and through interactive experiences, career exploration, and the study of stewardship students learn how to be a voice for Texas!

Land Stewardship Ambassadors is proudly sponsored by Texas Farm Credit. 

We select three groups of 15 high school students from Bexar, Cameron, and Webb counties who have an interest in the environment, the outdoors, and developing personal leadership skills. They complete assignments and participate in two-hour sessions each week that explore topics such as the history of conservation, principals of wildlife management, managing our watersheds, human dimensions of land stewardship, the role politics play in natural resource management, the economic engine of natural resource management, and the importance of gender and ethnic diversity within user groups.

At the end of the semester-long program, students give a presentation about a topic related to land stewardship. Students who successfully complete the 10-session program earn a $400 stipend. Students must participate in seven out of the eight initial sessions, the last two sessions, and complete all reading and writing assignments to qualify for the $400 stipend.

Click here to apply.

Application Deadline is November 1, 2021. Semi-finalists will be notified to participate in a Zoom interview the week of November 8-12, 2021. Selected applicants will be notified November 15, 2021.

Contact Information

Bexar County
Helen Holdsworth – helenholdsworth@wittemuseum.org
Allie Biedenharn – abiedenharn@eastfoundation.net
Daemon Pina – daemonpina@wittemuseum.org

Cameron County
Elisa Velador – evelador@texas-wildlife.org
Tina Buford – tbuford@eastfoundation.net

Webb County
Masi Mejia – mmejia@eastfoundation.net

Student Testimonials